LibGuides: STEM: Engineering & Architecture

Engineering & Architecture

Understanding the World's Greatest Structures: Science and Innovation from Antiquity to Modernity: Delivered by award-winning Professor Stephen Ressler of the United States Military Academy at West Point, a civil engineer and a nationally honored leader in engineering education, these 24 lectures take you on a fascinating and richly illustrated tour that deftly blends history and science to create an unforgettable survey of our world’s most remarkable structural masterpieces.

Electrical Engineering for Everyone: The science of electricity is considerably more amazing than magic. With dozens of live demonstrations, along with explanatory graphics and video, Dr. Laura J. Bottomley brings you on the amazing journey of electrical engineering—the discipline that has taken us from the electric lightbulb to interstellar space to artificial intelligence in less than 150 years. (24 episodes)

Urbanized: The Issues and Strategies Behind Urban Design: Over half the world’s population now lives in an urban area, and 75% will call a city home by 2050. But while some cities are experiencing explosive growth, others are shrinking. The challenges of balancing housing, mobility, public space, civic engagement, economic development, and environmental policy are fast becoming universal concerns. By exploring a diverse range of urban design projects around the world, URBANIZED frames a global discussion on the future of cities.

Everyday Engineering: Look around you. Great masterpieces of engineering are everywhere. As soon as you get out of bed in the morning, you are putting centuries of scientific and mechanical ingenuity to use. So familiar are these structures, inventions, and services that they are all but invisible. Yet they are just as remarkable as great works such as the Parthenon, the Eiffel Tower, and the Panama Canal. (36 episodes)

American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
The American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) is an independent, nonprofit, student-run organization dedicated to advancing leadership, design, and service among architecture students.
AUGI (Autodesk User Group International)
Online user community for Autodesk product users.
Construction Specifications Institute (CSI)
Founded in 1948, CSI is a national not-for-profit association dedicated to improving the communication of construction information throughout continuous development and transformation of standards and formats, education and certification of professionals to improve project delivery processes.
efunda - engineering Fundamentals
eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs.
Engineering and Technology History Wiki
The Engineering and Technology History Wiki (ETHW) is a website powered by MediaWiki with thousands of articles, first hand accounts, oral histories, milestones, archival documents and lesson plans pertaining to the history of technology. The ETHW is one of the world’s premier sites for the documentation, analysis, and explanation of the history of technology; the scientists, engineers and business people who made these technologies happen; and on the history of the organizations to which these men and women belonged.
IEEE Xplore
Searches scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
MERLOT - Engineering
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative, open-access encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press.
A Simple (But Complete) Guide: PLC Ladder Logic Programming (Basics)
Learn what ladder logic is, how it works, and why it is used to program PLCs. This guide covers the basics of ladder logic, its advantages, instructions, and examples.

99% Invisible
On a weekly basis, creator Roman Mars (who, surprisingly, has no formal qualifications in architecture or design) discusses the things that surround us but often go unnoticed; recent episodes have focused on bunkers, pedestrian skyways, and Florence Nightingale’s pioneering methods of data visualization.
The Amp Hour
The Amp Hour is a non-scripted off-the-cuff format show that usually airs every Sunday evening US time (recorded earlier in the week). It is the worlds largest and most respected electronics oriented radio show. Discussions range from hobbyist electronics to the state of the electronics industry, components, circuit design, and general on and off-topic rants.
Detailed: The ARCAT Podcast
This podcast takes a deep dive into the technical side of architecture, design, and construction. It features in-depth conversations with architects, engineers, contractors, and manufacturers, uncovering the real-world challenges, solutions, and innovations that shape the built environment.
Electronic Engineering Times Podcasts (EE Times)
Our podcasts offer a deep dive into the most compelling stories in electronics with subject matter experts from all corners of the industry. Podcasts include: EE Times Current, Artificial Intelligence, Embedded Edge, PowerUp, and the Weekly Briefing Archive.
The Engineering Career Coach
A motivational segment, a live career coaching session, and career-changing advice are regular features of this helpful podcast. It's a quick piece of weekly engineering advice from professionals that'll help you learn and expand your knowledge in the real world.
Engineering Matters
Engineering Matters is a podcast that covers a wide range of topics related to engineering, from infrastructure and innovation to sustainability and social impact. Each episode features interviews with engineers, researchers, policymakers, and entrepreneurs who share their insights, stories, and solutions. Some of the episodes that are relevant for environmental engineers include: How to Build a Climate-Resilient City, The Future of Waste, and Engineering the Energy Transition.
Where it's AT: the Architectural Technology podcast
This podcast series from the Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT) explores the ever-evolving relationship between technology, architecture, and the human experience.

AUGI (Autodesk User Group International)
Online user community for Autodesk product users.
Autodesk Software for Students
Autodesk provides free educational access to their products, including AutoCAD, for students. The verification process takes about 48 hours.
Cadalyst Magazine
Latest news and training links related to CAD.
CAD Tutor
CADTutor provides the best free tutorials and articles for AutoCAD, 3ds Max and associated applications along with a friendly community forum. If you need to learn AutoCAD, or you want to be more productive, you're in the right place.