LibGuides: Architectural Engineering Technology: Find Books

Find Books

The Delaware Library Catalog is the library's online catalog. It will help you search for books related to your program of study. The catalog can be searched by title, author, or subject. Searches can be limited by type of library and/or location. Try searching the Delaware Library Catalog using the keywords listed below:

Architectural drawing and design

Blueprints

Building details -- Drawings

Buildings -- Specifications

Construction contracts

Domestic architecture

Ecological houses

Interior architecture

Interior decoration

Interior decoration -- Environmental aspects

Kitchens

For additional help searching the Delaware Library Catalog please review video below:

Browsing the book shelves in the library can also lead you to books you may not otherwise find related to your program of study. The main call numbers for materials on or related to Architectural Engineering are:

K3500 – K3600 and KF5701--Building laws
NA--Architecture
TA--Engineering (General), Civil engineering
TC--Hydraulic engineering
TD--Environmental technology, Sanitary engineering
TH--Building construction

The 99% Invisible City by Roman Mars; Kurt Kohlstedt
Call Number: A645 .P496 2017
A beautifully designed guidebook to the unnoticed yet essential elements of our cities, from the creators of the wildly popular 99% Invisible podcast. Now, in The 99% Invisible City: A Field Guide to Hidden World of Everyday Design, host Roman Mars and coauthor Kurt Kohlstedt zoom in on the various elements that make our cities work, exploring the origins and other fascinating stories behind everything from power grids and fire escapes to drinking fountains and street signs. With deeply researched entries and beautiful line drawings throughout, The 99% Invisible City will captivate devoted fans of the show and anyone curious about design, urban environments, and the unsung marvels of the world around them.
The Structure of Design by Leslie Earl Robertson
Call Number: NA2542.36 .J62 2018
In The Structure of Design, Leslie Earl Robertson recounts a storied career in engineering which has generated among the most innovative and formally daring buildings of the modern era, as well as his extensive collaborations with several titans of the practice: Minoru Yamasaki, Philip Johnson, Max Abramovitz, Romaldo Giurgola, I. M. Pei, Pei Partnership, KPF, Kiyonori Kikutake, and Gunnar Birkerts. Robertson's large-scale projects with some of the leading sculptors of the day, including Richard Serra and Beverly Pepper, display the range of this engineer's craft. As a restless student from modest origins, Robertson's first encounters with engineering were almost accidental, yet he would go on to be lead engineer of the landmark IBM buildings in Pittsburgh and Seattle while still in his early thirties. Immediately thereafter he embarked on what would become his most renowned project, the World Trade Center, to be followed by scores of major buildings around the world. The Structure of Design is a personal and accessible chronicle of the partnerships and problem-solving that have forged classics of modern architecture, and a privileged look at how the key discipline of engineering influences design, as told by a genius and poet of structure.
Simplified Engineering for Architects and Builders by James Ambrose; Patrick Tripeny
Call Number: NA2700 .M69 2019
The bestselling structural design reference, fully updated and revised Simplified Engineering for Architects and Builders is the go-to reference on structural design, giving architects and designers a concise introduction to the structures commonly used for typical buildings. The clear, accessible presentation is designed to give you the essential engineering information you need without getting bogged down in excess math, making this book an ideal reference for busy design professionals. This new 12th edition has been completely revised to reflect the latest standards and practices. The instructor site includes a complete suite of teaching resources, including an instructor's manual. Structural design is an essential component of the architect's repertoire, and engineering principles are at the foundation of every sound structure. You need to know the physics, but you don't necessarily need to know all of the math. This book gives you exactly what you need without losing you in a tangle of equations, so you can quickly grasp and apply the material. Understand fundamental concepts like forces, loading, and reactions Learn how to design for wood, steel, or concrete construction Study structural design standards and develop sound structural systems Determine the best possible solutions to difficult design challenges The industry-leading reference for over 80 years, Simplified Engineering for Architects and Builders is the definitive guide to practical structural design.
The Atlas of American Architecture by Tom Martinson; Richard Meier
Call Number: NA2700 .T47 2018
This comparative history of American architecture, social spaces, and engineered environments, organized by style, and then by chronology is for the general reader. Within its heavily illustrated pages, Tom Martinson traces two millennia of the built environment of this endlessly fascinating, extraordinarily expansive, and utterly diverse nation. Pairing vibrant photography with a rich knowledge of the history of architecture in America from the Hopi and Colonial years to neo-modernism, Robert A. M. Stern, and Zaha Hadid. The book is a comprehensive overview of styles and developments, as well as telling the story of a country through its buildings.
Architectural Graphic Standards by American Institute of Architects; Keith E. Hedges
Call Number: NA2750 .B87 2018
ARCHITECTURAL GRAPHIC STANDARDS THE LANDMARK UPDATE OF THE MOST RECOGNIZED STUDENT RESOURCE IN ARCHITECTURE. The Student Edition of the iconic Architectural Graphic Standards has been a rite of passage for architecture, building, and engineering students for more than eighty years. Thoughtfully distilled from the Twelfth Edition of Architectural Graphic Standards and reorganized to meet the specific needs of today's students, this fully updated Student Edition shows you how to take a design idea through the entire planning and documentation process. This potent resource stays with you through your academic experience and into your first years as a professional with thousands of useful illustrations and hundreds of architectural elements conveniently placed at your fingertips. Presented in a format closely resembling an architect's actual workflow, this Twelfth Edition student handbook features: Completely new material on resiliency in buildings A versatile treatment written for the design studio setting and aligned with the most current curricular trends, including new and updated coverage on topics related to sustainability, digital fabrication, and building information modeling (BIM) A proven pedagogy that saves students time and ensures young professionals avoid the most common pitfalls Develop a state-of-the-art mastery of design best practices with Architectural Graphic Standards, Twelfth Edition, Student Edition

Search and view the full text of eBooks provided by the databases listed below:

Credo Reference - Search in hundreds of reference resources and subject-specific titles, including images, audio files and videos.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Learning Express/PrepSTEP - Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

R2Library - Full-text e-books in the allied health, nursing, and medical fields.

What if the book I want isn’t available at my campus library but is located in another Delaware library?

You can place a hold on the book, and when it is available, it will be sent to the Delaware Tech library location that you choose.

Follow these easy steps:

Find the item you want in the Library Catalog.
Click on "Place Hold"
Enter your 700#, PIN, and the Delaware Tech library where you want the material sent.
Be patient—it may take a few days for the material to arrive.
You will receive a Delaware Tech e-mail notice when your material has arrived.
Bring your Delaware Tech ID when you pick up your material.

To request books not available in the Delaware Library Catalog use the electronic form available here:

Interlibrary Loan

For additional help with Hold and Interlibrary Loan functions, please review the video below: