LibGuides: Geographic Information Systems: Find Books

Find Books

The Delaware Library Catalog is the library's online catalog. It will help you search for books related to your program of study. The catalog can be searched by title, author, or subject. Searches can be limited by type of library and/or location. Try searching the Delaware Library Catalog using the keywords listed below:

For additional help searching the Delaware Library Catalog please review video below:

Browsing the book shelves in the library can also lead you to books you may not otherwise find related to your program of study. The main call numbers for materials on or related to Geographic Information Systems are:

G70.212

ArcView

Cartography-Data processing

Geographic Information System-Mathematical Model

Geography-Data processing

Geo informatics

Geographic Space

GIS Models & Modeling

Global Positioning system

Remote Sensing & GIS

Spacial Information Systems

Terrain Mapping

GIS for Critical Infrastructure Protection by Robert F. Austin; David P. DiSera; Talbot J. Brooks
Call Number: G70.212 .A95 2016
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
GIS for Critical Infrastructure Protection highlights the GIS-based technologies that can be used to support critical infrastructure protection and emergency management. The book bridges the gap between theory and practice using real-world applications, real-world case studies, and the authors' real-world experience. Geared toward infrastructure owners and first responders and their agencies, it addresses gaps in the response, recovery, preparedness planning, and emergency management of large-scale disasters. It also explains the first principles of CIP, introduces the basic components of GIS, and focuses on the application of GIS analysis to identify and mitigate risk and facilitate remediation.
Geo-Information Systems (GIS) by Jovan Pehcevski
Call Number: G70. 212 .G46 2018
Geographic Information System (GIS) technology is used for collecting, storing, updating, processing, analyzing and displaying of spatial and other related data. A GIS system consists of organized and trained professionals, technical equipment, program support (software) and data. Although the beginnings of GIS development can be traced back to 30 years ago, the real boom was experienced in the last decade when it started to be massively used in remote research, military applications, surveying, geology, forestry, urban planning, local government, environment protection etc.
Geographic Information Systems in Environment Management by Quan Cui
Call Number: G70.212 .G47 2018
The use of Geographic Information Systems in Environmental Management has seen unprecedented growth in the last ten years. While the expanding of GIS system memories, researchers can handle much larger geographic environment data. As more and more GIS application cases used in environmental - related research works, this technology has been developed and improved as well. Geographic information systems provide a great deal of information and analytical capacity for people's understanding of how human's activities impact on the environment. In this book, topics covered land use sustainability, natural resources management and planning, novel modelling methods for environment and geography, environmental management assessment tools and decision-making approaches. Research areas in this book included Europe, North America and East Asia.
Online GIS and Spatial Metadata by Terry Bossomaier; Brian A. Hope
Call Number: G70.212 .G744 2016
Implement Your Own Applications Using Online GIS is an in-depth study detailing the online applications of geographic information systems (GIS), Online GIS and Spatial Metadata, Second Edition outlines how GIS data are published, organized, accessed, searched, maintained, purchased, and processed over the web. This latest work describes how the internet has become a platform for the delivery and integration of geographic information. It highlights the growth that has taken place since the first edition and includes new chapters on popular XML formats used in online GIS, SDI Metadata Portals, Mobile GIS and Location-Based services. It also updates metadata standards and explains how metadata links it all together. Designed to help non-technical readers understand technical Issues. The book provides a brief overview of the basic technology of online GIS before introducing the technical methods used to develop and implement GIS on the web. It includes an introduction to the protocols and standards now in use online and provides technical background and real-world examples of scripts, markup, and other elements that make this technology work. Expanding on the previous edition, the book offers a global perspective of online GIS, contains links and references to online resources, and includes future directions, applications, and trends.
Gis by Patrick McHaffie; Cassie Follett; Sungsoon Hwang
Call Number: G70.212 .M34 2019
Over the past few decades the world has been organized through the growth and integration of geographic information systems (GIS) across public and private sector industries, agencies, and organizations. This has happened in a technological context that includes the widespread deployment of multiple digital mobile technologies, digital wireless communication networks, positioning, navigation and mapping services, and cloud-based computing, spawning new ways of imagining, creating, and consuming geospatial information and analytics. GIS: An Introduction to Mapping Technologies is written with the detached voices of practitioner scholars who draw on a diverse set of experiences and education, with a shared view of GIS that is grounded in the analysis of scale-diverse contexts emphasizing cities and their social and environmental geographies. GIS is presented as a critical toolset that allows analysts to focus on urban social and environmental sustainability. The book opens with chapters that explore foundational techniques of mapping, data acquisition and field data collection using GNSS, georeferencing, spatial analysis, thematic mapping, and data models.
Mastering ArcGIS by Maribeth H. Price
Call Number: GIS 110 2016 Stanton
Mastering ArcGIS is an introductory GIS text that is designed to offer everything you need to master the basic elements of GIS. The author's step-by-step approach helps students negotiate the challenging tasks involved in learning sophisticated GIS software. An innovative and unique feature of Mastering ArcGIS is its accompanying narrated video clips that show students exactly how to perform chapter tutorials before attempting an exercise on their own.

Search and view the full text of eBooks provided by the databases listed below:

Credo Reference - Search in hundreds of reference resources and subject-specific titles, including images, audio files and videos.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Learning Express/PrepSTEP - Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

R2Library - Full-text e-books in the allied health, nursing, and medical fields.

What if the book I want isn’t available at my campus library but is located in another Delaware library?

You can place a hold on the book, and when it is available, it will be sent to the Delaware Tech library location that you choose.

Follow these easy steps:

Find the item you want in the Library Catalog.
Click on "Place Hold"
Enter your 700#, PIN, and the Delaware Tech library where you want the material sent.
Be patient—it may take a few days for the material to arrive.
You will receive a Delaware Tech e-mail notice when your material has arrived.
Bring your Delaware Tech ID when you pick up your material.

To request books not available in the Delaware Library Catalog use the electronic form available here:

Interlibrary Loan

For additional help with Hold and Interlibrary Loan functions, please review the video below: