Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Delaware Technical Community College

Middle-Level Math Education: Find articles

Library Databases

As a Delaware Tech student, you have access to respected, high quality online databases that will provide you with the latest information in your field of study.  Library databases to which you have access are listed under the Resources tab at my.dtcc.edu

The vast majority of articles that Delaware Tech students have access to are in electronic format.  Your Delaware Tech campus library purchases access to electronic databases that allow you to search for and access periodical articles to assist you in your research.

These databases include:

 

Comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate, and school libraries. For Middle-Level Math Education select the following databases from the list to use in your search:  Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC, and MasterFILE Premier.

 


Targeted learning centers with practice tests, tutorials, e-books, articles and flashcards for careers in                                                   allied health, nursing, teaching, and                                                   law enforcement.


Provides a concise summary of issues and controversies in today's news, including historical background on the issues and a synopsis of all sides of the debate.  Links to articles that support both the pro and con of a particular topic.


Also available: NY Times and Proquest Newspapers (including The News Journal)

Scholarly articles: How can I tell?

What is an academic/scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal contains articles, reports, and reviews written by scholars to report results of research and other scholarly activities. For most student research papers and projects, scholarly articles are the best sources for supporting your arguments.

What are some of the charateristics of an academic/scholarly journal article?

• Academic journals are usually published or sponsored by a professional society/association or research institutes and/or universities.

• Tend to be longer articles about research and often uses scholarly or technical language.

• Include full citations for sources. 

• Academic articles within these journals are "refereed" or "peer reviewed," indicating that they have been reviewed by experts in the field before publication to determine their relevance and quality .

Professional/Trade Publications

What are professional/trade publications?

Trade or professional publications are magazines, journals, and newspapers written for particular audiences. In general, a trade publication will contain news, current events information, articles, and ads of interest to people in that industry or profession.

  • Audience: Researchers and experts, members of a trade or profession, and the general public.
  • Provide information of use to a particular industry.
  • No specific format.
  • Articles sometimes unsigned.
  • General editors of the magazine review articles.
  • Advertising is used to appeal to those in the field.

Source: http://courses.semo.edu/library/infolit/tradepublications.htm

How to find an article

For additional help searching for articles, please review the video below:

How to find an article (video)

Place Hold & Interlibrary Loan Request

Using Interlibrary Loan

To request articles not available as full-text in the library databases use the electronic form available here:

Interlibrary Loan Request