LibGuides: Veterinary Technology: Find Books

Find Books

The Delaware Library Catalog is the library's online catalog. It will help you search for books related to your program of study. The catalog can be searched by title, author, or subject. Searches can be limited by type of library and/or location. Try searching the Delaware Library Catalog using the keywords listed below:

Veterinary nursing Veterinary emergencies Veterinary internal medicine

For additional help searching the Delaware Library Catalog please review video below:

Browsing the book shelves in the library can also lead you to books you may not otherwise find related to your program of study. The main call numbers for materials on or related to Veterinary Technology are:

SF700 - SF999

The Other Family Doctor by Karen Fine (Contribution by)
Call Number: SF613 .F5288 A3 2023
A heartwarming memoir about one woman's career as a vet and the unique role pets play in our lives.
Principles and Practice of Veterinary Technology by Ann Wortinger
Call Number: SF774.4 .P75 2024
Develop strong critical thinking and independent work skills! Principles and Practice of Veterinary Technology, 5th Edition features more than 80 illustrated, step-by-step procedures that emphasize the technician's roles and responsibilities for all AVMA-required psychomotor techniques. This edition includes expanded coverage of complementary medicine, critical care, pet health insurance, and toxicology. Plus, dozens of summary tables and boxes make it easy to find key information. Step-by-step procedures include instructions for all AVMA-required psychomotor techniques, presenting complex procedures clearly and preparing you to master the essential skills required to become a successful veterinary technician. Clinical discussions clearly delineate the technician's role, enabling you to focus on your roles and responsibilities in every aspect of practice.
Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians by Charles M. Hendrix
Call Number: SF810 .A3 H46 2023
Gain the knowledge you need to Identify and understand animal parasites! Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians, 6th Edition features clear and concise discussions of the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites. Chapters are organized by parasite group - including nematodes, cestodes, trematodes, protozoans, arthropods, and leeches - and include a detailed description of the group, with special emphasis on morphology, life cycle, and important parasites.
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by James A. Budde;
Call Number: SF917 .P58 2023
Find drug dosages and other critical information for prescribing drugs to animals quickly and efficiently in this fully updated new edition of this must-have veterinary resource The Tenth Edition of Plumb's® Veterinary Drug Handbook updates the most comprehensive, detailed, and trusted source of drug information relevant to veterinary medicine. Covering dosages, drug interactions, adverse effects, and contraindications, among other key drug details, this bestselling book is a must for practicing veterinarians and anyone requiring reliable information on the use of drugs in animals.
Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians by Terry Lake; Nicola Green
Call Number: SF919 .L35 2023
Learn to easily master the types of veterinary nursing calculations you will face on the job with Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians, 4th Edition. From basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, this useful text covers all aspects of calculations as applied to veterinary nursing. Readers will benefit from the text's common-sense approach to clinical situations and complete the book knowing how to use calculations to determine dosage rates, anesthetic flow rates, radiography exposure rates, parenteral nutrition, and more. User-friendly features include simple language, detailed explanations, ample examples, and special author guidance so that content is easy to follow and understand.

Search and view the full text of eBooks provided by the databases listed below:

Credo Reference - Search in hundreds of reference resources and subject-specific titles, including images, audio files and videos.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Learning Express/PrepSTEP - Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

R2Library - Full-text e-books in the allied health, nursing, and medical fields.

What if the book I want isn’t available at my campus library but is located in another Delaware library?

You can place a hold on the book, and when it is available, it will be sent to the Delaware Tech library location that you choose.

Follow these easy steps:

Find the item you want in the Library Catalog.
Click on "Place Hold"
Enter your 700#, PIN, and the Delaware Tech library where you want the material sent.
Be patient—it may take a few days for the material to arrive.
You will receive a Delaware Tech e-mail notice when your material has arrived.
Bring your Delaware Tech ID when you pick up your material.

To request books not available in the Delaware Library Catalog use the electronic form available here:

Interlibrary Loan

For additional help with Hold and Interlibrary Loan functions, please review the video below: